New Jersey Motorcycle Laws
The operations of motorcycles in New Jersey are strictly regulated, and the state has several laws meant to help protect the rider of the motorcycle, the passenger, and other vehicles on the road. If you don’t follow the proper rules while operating a motorcycle, you could end up very badly injured. Make sure you know the law and take the appropriate precautions. If you were involved in an accident and you believe someone else’s negligence was the cause, you may be entitled to compensation. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation to discuss your options.
Motorcycle Laws in New Jersey
The following are some of the most important motorcycle laws in New Jersey:
Passengers Must Have A Defined Seat
While the state of New Jersey does not have age or height requirements for motorcycle passengers, there must be a defined seat reserved for the passenger. If there is no seat for your passenger, transporting them is illegal. There must also be footrests designed exclusively for the passenger’s usage.
Helmets Are Always Required
In New Jersey, helmets are required for motorcycle drivers and passengers. The helmet must be securely fitted and equipped with a neck or chin strap. It must also be reflectorized on both sides.
A Motorcycle Endorsement Or License Is Not Optional
To legally operate a motorbike in New Jersey, you must have a motorcycle endorsement on your current New Jersey driver’s license or obtain a motorcycle license. Before you can receive your license or endorsement, you must first obtain your motorcycle permit. This gives riders the opportunity to safely develop their riding skills before they are officially licensed or endorsed.
Once you are eligible to have your motorcycle license or endorsement, you must complete the basic rider course provided by the New Jersey Motorcycle Safety Education Program (MSEP) if you are under the age of 18. If you are 18 years or older, you can apply for your license or endorsement without taking this course.
Regardless of your age and whether you are seeking a license or an endorsement, you must take and pass a motorcycle road test.
Eye Protection is Required
The state of New Jersey requires that your eyes are constantly protected when riding a motorcycle. You must either have a windscreen on your motorcycle or wear approved goggles or a face shield. To have the most protection, you should wear a full-face helmet.
You Can’t Ride Without Insurance
To register your motorcycle in New Jersey, you must obtain motorcycle insurance with a minimum of $15,000 for bodily injury per person. Additionally, you must carry a policy of $5,000 for property damage.
Other Important Requirements
- Lights: all motorcycles must maintain at least one functional headlight and no more than two. There must also be a tail light, brake light, a light that shines on the license plate, and a rear reflector.
- Handlebar: the height of the handlebar of a motorcycle cannot be taller than the height of the driver’s shoulder.
- Mirrors: all motorcycles in New Jersey must maintain at least one rear view mirror to ensure they have a proper view of their surroundings.
If you have any questions about the motorcycle laws in New Jersey, or you need assistance for any other reason, contact us today to set up a free consultation.