What claims can I make if I was injured while a passenger in a LYFT/UBER vehicle?

New Jersey passed a special law which controls Uber/Lyft accidents.  if you were a passenger in an Uber or Lyft and injured in an accident, you can make a claim against the insurance company providing coverage to that car.  The law is different for these vehicles than the car insurance law which applies to private cars.

How are the insurance requirements that apply to ride share ke Uber/Lyft different from those that apply to taxis in New Jersey?

How much insurance is available if I was injured in an accident involving an UBER or LYFT vehicle in New Jersey?

The Uber/Lyft law in New Jersey includes different types of insurance coverage, depending on whether the driver of the vehicle was waiting to find a fare, was on its way to pick up a passenger or was actually transporting a passenger at the time of the accident.  There are different levels of insurance coverage for each stage of the case:

  • Passenger present in vehicle. When an Uber or Lyft driver is carrying a passenger, UBER and LYFT are required to provide insurance that will cover up to $1.5 million in bodily injury, property damage or death to those involved in the accident. There is no medical coverage provided to the passengers but the driver will receive $10,000 in medical benefits insurance.
  • If driver is looking for passenger. If the Uber or Lyft driver does not have a passenger in the car, but has his or her Uber or Lyft app operating so that the driver is looking for a passenger, the law requires $50,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per person, $100,000 worth of bodily injury or death coverage per accident and $25,000 in property damage coverage.
  • Driver has Uber/Lyft app turned off. If the driver’s Uber or Lyft app is turned off so that he or she is not actively seeking work, the new Uber/Lyft insurance requirements do not apply and the driver’s own personal insurance policy must cover damages.