New Jersey Rideshare Accident Laws
To legally operate a rideshare service in New Jersey, companies need to comply with several important laws. Additionally, rideshare drivers need to adhere to a number of requirements for their vehicles, legal documents, and placard displays. The New Jersey rideshare accident lawyers at Brady Reilly & Cardoso, LLC can help.
Requirements for Rideshare Companies in New Jersey
The Transportation Network Company Safety and Regulatory Act establish important rules for rideshare companies in New Jersey. Under this piece of legislation, entities like Uber and Lyft must comply with the following requirements:
- Rideshare companies, drivers, or a combination of the two must maintain insurance that recognizes the driver as a rideshare contractor and provides coverage while the driver is logged into the app or providing a ride to the passenger.
- When the driver is logged into the app but not providing a ride, the insurance coverage should provide at least $50,000 for death or bodily injury per person, $100,000 for death or bodily injury per accident; and $25,000 for property damage. If the driver has a passenger, the liability coverage must be at least $1.5 million.
- Rideshare companies are required to adopt a non-discrimination policy and comply with all applicable laws, particularly rules regarding disability accommodations and service animals.
- Rideshare companies must conduct a criminal background and driving record check of each driver before he or she joins the company’s network. They must also ensure that the vehicle meets New Jersey motor vehicle inspection requirements.
Requirements for Rideshare Drivers in New Jersey
To legally drive for a rideshare service like Uber or Lyft, drivers need to be at least 25 years old and hold a valid, unexpired driver’s license. The license does not need to be a New Jersey document; Uber and Lyft may also accept temporary or out-of-state documents.
A driver must also maintain his or her standard no-fault insurance policies as required by New Jersey law. Additionally, the vehicle’s registration must be in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, or New York; the registration does not need to be in the driver’s name.
If a driver is arrested, charged, or convicted for any of the following crimes, he or she must notify the rideshare company of the offense as soon as possible:
- Felony crimes
- Violent crimes
- Sexual offenses
- Driving-related offenses
- Drug-related offenses
Placard Display Laws in New Jersey
New Jersey also has specific laws regarding the display of Uber or Lyft placards. While in driver mode, drivers must display the emblem for their rideshare company in the lower corner of their front and rear windshields on the passenger side.
Additionally, they must display a special New Jersey placard on their rear passenger windows that contains their driver and vehicle information and a QR code. Riders can scan the code and confirm that they are entering the correct vehicle.
Injured in a Rideshare Accident? Contact Brady Reilly & Cardoso, LLC
If you are involved in an Uber or a Lyft accident, you may be eligible for financial compensation. In these situations, you need an attorney on your side who can guide you through the claims process and help you secure the settlement that you deserve.
The New Jersey rideshare accident lawyers at Brady Reilly & Cardoso, LLC can help. Contact us today to schedule a free case consultation and learn more about your legal options.